Development Guide

Contributing

Contact information for the core dev team and community can be found below. The PX4 project uses a three-branch Git branching model:

  • master is by default unstable and sees rapid development.
  • beta has been thoroughly tested. Its intended for flight testers.
  • stable points to the last release branch.

We try to retain a linear history through rebases and avoid the Github flow. However, due to the global team and fast moving development we might resort to merges at times.

To contribute new functionality, sign up for Github, then fork the repository, create a new branch, add your changes, and finally send a pull request. Changes will be merged when they pass our continuous integration tests.

All contributions have to be under the permissive BSD 3-clause license and all code must not impose any further constraints on the use.

Tests Flight Results

Test flights are important for quality assurance. Please upload the logs from the microSD card to Log Muncher and share the link on the forum along with a verbal flight report.

Forums and Chat

Weekly Dev Call

The PX4 Dev Team syncs up on its weekly dev call (connect via Mumble client).

  • TIME: 19:00h Zurich time, 1 p.m. Eastern Time, 10 a.m. Pacific Standard Time
  • Server: mumble.dronecode.org
  • Port: 10028
  • Channel: PX4 Channel
  • The agenda is announced the same day on the px4users forum